How can we help you...

Agenda, decisions and draft minutes

Venue: Committee Room 2 - Town House. View directions

Contact: Martyn Orchard 01224 523097 or email 

No. Item


Determination of Urgent Business


In terms of Section 1.3 of the Committee Remit and in accordance with Section 50(B)(4)(b) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, the Committee was informed that it had to determine (1) that the item on the agenda was of an urgent nature; and (2) that the Committee required to consider the item and take a decision thereon.


The Committee resolved:-

to agree that the report was of an urgent nature and required to be considered this day to enable the Committee to consider the matter at the earliest available opportunity.

The press and public were excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following item which dealt with confidential information in terms of Section 50A 3(b) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973.


Aberdeen International Youth Festival - GOV/18/034


With reference to Article 28 of the minute of meeting of Council of 5 March 2018, the Committee had before it a report by the Chief Officer - Governance which advised of the response from the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR) to the Council decision on the appointment of members to the body known as the Aberdeen International Youth Festival Trust (AIYF), and sought the appointment of two named members to the AIYF.


The report recommended:-

that the Committee appoint a minimum of two named members to the Aberdeen Music Festival Trust (Charity No. SC014935) (known as AIYF) and advise OSCR accordingly.


Councillor Yuill moved as a procedural motion, seconded by Councillor Nicoll:-     That the Committee, whilst acknowledging that the report was confidential, agree to debate the recommendation in public given that the recommendation was not confidential.


On a division, there voted:-  for the procedural motion  (4)  -  Councillors McLellan, Nicoll, Townson and Yuill;  against the procedural motion  (5)  -  Vice Convener; Depute Provost; and Councillors Bell, Houghton and Wheeler.


The Committee resolved:-

to reject the procedural motion.


The Committee further resolved:-

to appoint Councillors Bell and Lumsden to the Aberdeen Music Festival Trust (Charity No. SC014935) (known as AIYF) and to advise OSCR accordingly.